Home Is Where the Heart Is

WRITER CREDIT: 
PHOTOGRAPHER CREDIT: 
Home Is Where the Heart Is | What to do when you're a barefoot, boho bride and your mom's black-tie traditional? Click to find out
Mama might know best, but sometimes compromise is the name of the game. “Lanier wanted a boho wedding with barefoot maids in flower crowns, and her mom wanted a formal gala,” says photographer Marni Rothschild. Laughs Lanier’s mom, “We worked really hard to merge the two.” It was no easy feat, considering there were events at Kiawah Island’s well-heeled Cassique Club, Ocean Club, and River Course for WED to plan, along with a ceremony at Lanier’s parents’ home. In the end, guests were rewarded with a one-of-a-kind jaunt throughout the island, and as for that ceremony, it was especially unforgettable. Lanier walked down terraced steps (where Luke had first professed his love to her two years prior) to exchange vows in the backyard as 250 guests looked on. “Lanier and Luke could see everyone whichever way they looked,” her mother says. Sounds like they struck the perfect balance.
 
Tips
 
• Blend in. White blooms flanked the home’s terraced steps for a lush aisle that didn’t upstage the natural scenery or existing plantings.
• If you use family heirlooms like china, take out insurance, make a list of the pieces, and deliver them to your planner a week beforehand.
• Work in soft hues via subtle ways, like this wedding’s drink with lavender sprigs and bridesmaids in pale lilac pashminas.
• To make a dining area feel formal yet familial, mix table shapes and sizes, as if each were pulled from your own collection.
 
Vendors
 
Wedding design, welcome bags: WED, www.designedbywed.com
Images: Marni Rothschild Pictures, www.marnipictures.com
Venue(s): Family home & Kiawah Island River Course https://www.kiawahisland.com/island-life/golf/
Catering, fireworks, reception venue: River Course, www.kiawahislandclub.com
Florals: The Vine, www.vinegardenmarket.com
Linens: Nüage Designs, www.nuagedesigns.com
Invitations: Papellerie, www.papellerie.com
Desserts: Christophe Chocolatier, www.christophechocolatier.com
Stationery: Studio R Design, www.studio-r-design.com
Lighting: Technical Event Company, https://www.technicaleventcompany.com
Draping: The Social Spool, www.thesocialspool.com
Bride’s attire: Oscar de la Renta, www.oscardelarenta.com
Beauty: Ashley Jolly, www.ajollyoccasion.com
Bride’s shoes: Manolo Blahnik, www.manoloblahnik.com/us
Bridesmaids’ dresses: Donna Morgan, www.donna-morgan.com
Ceremony music: Charleston Virtuosi, www.charlestonvirtuosi.com
Cocktail hour music: Seth G, www.sethgmusic.com
Reception music: Big Swing and the Ballroom Blasters, www.bigswingandtheballroomblasters.com
Videography: Thomas Brothers, www.thomasbrothersproductions.com
Transportation: Lowcountry Valet, www.lowcountryvalet.com