Rose Parade

WRITER CREDIT: 
PHOTOGRAPHER CREDIT: 
Rose Parade | Garden style takes over this stunning Big Day at Boone Hall Plantation
ANDREW DORIN & ERIN CRAWFORD
 
June 16, 2018 / Boone Hall Plantation
 
Time after time we hear brides say their dream wedding would reflect their personality and their favorite things. Shea Colbert at Ooh! Events says that those two things are just what her team attempts to hone in on when crafting a Big Day. Considering she describes bride Erin as natural and romantic, Shea hit the nail on the head when the New York City-resident wed her sweetheart, Andrew, at Boone Hall Plantation last summer. Their affair stands out for many reasons—for its playful dance of patterns (check out the linens), sweet touches scattered here and there (how about the custom watercolor artwork on the printed materials?), organic style (heirloom china and flowers seemingly plucked out of a home garden), and more. For a couple whose beginning was launched when they met at a sports bar for Southern football fans, cheers to scoring on all fronts.
 
What They Recommend
 
• Get layers. Using complementary (but not matching) patterned linens gave a curated vibe to the setting. Adding blue and white china and green napkins to an otherwise blush-dominated dining hall took the palette from saccharine to simply sweet.
• Let it grow. Trailing greenery softened the timbers overhead, while roses were made to look like they were sprouting off vines that had naturally, over years, grown along the walls of the dockhouse.
• Buck tradition. Erin wore a blush Marchesa gown and had her bridesmaids pick their own white Monique Lhuillier dresses. She carried a bouquet of white flowers, while the ladies carried pink blooms.
 
Vendors
 
Design, rentals: Ooh! Events, www.oohevents.com
Photography: Dana Cubbage Weddings, www.danacubbageweddings.com
Venue: Boone Hall Plantation, www.boonehallplantation.com
Florals: Out of the Garden, www.oohevents.com
Catering, wine and bar service: Cru Catering, www.crucatering.com
Cake: Ashley Brown Cake Design, www.abcdcakes.com
Paper goods: Studio R Design, www.studio-r-design.com
Bride’s attire: Marchesa (gown), www.marchesa.com; Christian Louboutin (shoes), www.christianlouboutin.com 
Bridesmaids’ dresses: Monique Lhuillier, www.moniquelhuillier.com
Beauty: Meg Workman, www.megworkman.com
Groom’s attire: Ermenegildo Zegna, www.zegna.com
Flower girl’s attire: BHLDN, www.bhldn.com
Ring bearer’s attire: Ralph Lauren, www.ralphlauren.com
Music: Charleston Duo (ceremony), www.charlestonduo.com; Voltage Brothers (reception)