The Good Life

WRITER CREDIT: 
PHOTOGRAPHER CREDIT: 
The Good Life | Limoncello & citrus sweets take over this wedding at Middleton Place
KIM MYERS & CHRIS GERONIMOS
 
September 8, 2018 • Cathedral of St. John the Baptist & Middleton Place
 
When Chris Geronimos met Kim Myers at a pool party and heard she was a former college swim team member, he challenged her to a race ... and lost. He lost again when she didn’t give him her number afterward. Later that same night he reached out one last time, this try via Facebook, and finally hit pay dirt. The pair dated for about six months before he was offered a couldn’t-pass-up job in London and they fell out of touch. Two years later they reconnected, Chris told her he had never stopped loving her, and he invited her to visit. That led to him moving back stateside, and two winters later, he popped the question on a walk one snowy evening in New York, where they live. (Thanks to the ever-resourceful groom, that moment was captured on camera by Kim’s swim-team bestie.)
 
The couple happily returned to the site of their first trip à deux, Charleston, for their wedding, and invited some 150 guests to join. For the reception’s aesthetic, the couple took a cue from a recent trip to Capri. “We visited a restaurant there called Da Paolino where hundreds of lemons trees grew,” says Kim. “They adorned the ceiling, the ground, the tables ... The smell was dreamy and one even fell onto our plate as we were dining!”
 
Kim secured Ooh! Events to see her citrus dreams to life, the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist downtown for the ceremony, and Middleton Place on the Ashley River for the celebration. Yes, the latter’s Euro-inspired gardens were a draw, but almost as influential? The sheep, horses, and peacocks (specifically Kevin) on site, says Kim, whose own pup couldn’t attend.
 
After the ceremony and cocktail hour, magic struck. It happened as servers passed limoncello shots for all to toast the couple as they danced to Barry White’s “Can’t Get Enough of Your Love.” “We were completely ourselves in that moment and everything else disappeared,” says Kim. “As we heard the hoots and hollers from our friends and family, it just motivated us to spin faster and enjoy those minutes together.” Cheers to that!
 
Vendors
 
Wedding design, rentals, signage: Ooh! Events, www.oohevents.com
Florals, draping: Out of the Garden, www.oohevents.com
Photography: Clay Austin, www.clayaustinphotography.com
Ceremony venue: The Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist, www.charlestoncathedral.com
Reception venue, wine and bar service, catering: Middleton Place, www.middletonplace.org
Tent, stage, dance floor: Skyline Tent Company, www.skylinetentcompany.com
Linens: The Curated Line, www.curatedline.com
Stationery: Mac & Murphy, www.macandmurphy.com
Bride’s attire: Oscar de la Renta from Bergdorf Goodman, www.bergdorfgoodman.com
Bridesmaids’ attire: Jenny Yoo, www.jennyyoo.com; Yumi Kim, www.yumikim.com
Beauty: Ooh! Beautiful, www.shopoutofhand.com
Flower girl’s, ring bearer’s attire: J.Crew, www.jcrew.com
Menswear: The Black Tux, www.theblacktux.com
Transportation: Lowcountry Valet, www.lowcountryvalet.com
Music: The Sultans through Jerry Bennett Entertainment, www.thesultans.com
Favors: Southampton Soap Company, www.southamptonsoapcompany.com
Video: Life in Rewind, www.lifeinrewind.com