Tour de Force

WRITER CREDIT: 
PHOTOGRAPHER CREDIT: 
Tour de Force | Dive Into One of the Most Stunning Plantation Weddings We've Ever Run. Period
Virginia and Stephen worked for nearly two years with planner Lindsey Boyce of A Charleston Bride on their wedding, so you can only imagine its splendor. To start with, the bride headed down the aisle to a bagpiper playing the “Outlander” theme, a tune from Isle of Skye, Scotland, where the pair got engaged. “[Even] Stephen had no idea that was coming!” Virginia laughs. Other treats? A post-ceremony walking tour-slash-cocktail hour that wound through the boxwood maze and alongside the Ashley River and included drinks based on the cities where the couple met (New Orleans), got married (Charleston), and now live (Dallas); a reception with oyster shuckers moving among the guests; and a magical send-off via a second line parade complete with bobbing parasols and waving handkerchiefs embroidered with the couple’s new crest, no less.
 
Tips
• Spray pineapples (a symbol of Charleston hospitality) gold for an inexpensive décor element.
• Change your look. Virginia selected a versatile gown with different skirts and toppers to create multiple styles for her photos, ceremony, and reception.
• Offset busily patterned dining tablecloths by covering cocktail tables in solid neutrals.
• Post signs for the ceremony, reception, parking, powder rooms, and more are if you are hosting your event on a large site. (This especially goes for cool months when the sun goes down early.)
 
Vendors
 
Wedding design, signage: A Charleston Bride, www.acharlestonbride.com
Images: Aaron & Jillian Photography, www.aaronandjillian.com
Venue: Magnolia Plantation & Gardens, www.magnoliaplantation.com
Rentals: Ooh! Events www.oohevents.com (lounge furniture, chairs, bars, chandeliers); Snyder Events www.snyderevents.com (chairs, tables, flatware, glassware)
Cake: Publix, www.publix.com
Groom’s cake: Haydel’s, www.haydelbakery.com
Catering, bar service: Cru Catering, www.crucatering.com
Stationery: Sweet Magnolia Paper, www.sweetmagnoliapaper.com
Linens: Nüage Designs https://nuagedesigns.com/, La Tavola Fine Linen, www.latavolalinen.com
Lighting: Technical Event Comapny, www.technicaleventcompany.com
Crest: Karli Strohschein, www.karlistrohschein.com
Embroidery: Sew Special by V, www.etsy.com/shop/sewspecialbyv
Bridal attire: Nardos Design, www.nardosdesign.com
Beauty: Ash and Co, www.ashandcobridalhair.com
Menswear: Brooks Brothers, www.brooksbrothers.com
Ties: The Tie Bar, www.thetiebar.com
Bride’s Assistant: Cacky’s Bride Aid, www.cackysbrideaid.com
Dancefloor, stagefront: EventWorks, www.eventworksrentals.com
Oyster bar: Oysters XO, www.oystersxo.com
Ceremony Music: Classical Charleston
Bagpiper: The Carolina Bagpiper, www.thecarolinabagpiper.com
Dog Nanny: Dog Tired SC, www.dogtiredsc.com
Videography: Life in Rewind, www.lifeinrewind.com
Getaway vehicle: Carolina Executive, www.celimoline.com
Banner: Spoonflower, www.spoonflower.com