Runway to Reality

WRITER CREDIT: 
PHOTOGRAPHER CREDIT: 
Runway to Reality | Marchesa? Tom Ford? Burberry? See how they all played into this fashionista-fest

Lauren Schaal & Chad Arango

April 15, 2018 / Boone Hall Plantation

 

Check out College of Charleston alum Lauren’s feed (@Lauren_Arango) and you’ll see that she and Chad are wedding veterans. You’ll also score a fashion show—these two are a primer for what to wear to any Big Day. When it came to their own ceremony and reception at Boone Hall Plantation, the New Yorkers (she’s worked at Burberry, Glamour, and more) brought that same flair. Lauren wore Marchesa the entire night (her mother bought it off the runway with one stipulation: no gown changes); and Chad donned a white tuxedo jacket, then changed into Tom Ford to receive guests. The setting was just as stylish, with its streamlined palette echoing the blush of her dress, run through with hot pink, and accented with gold. In the end, all the elegant appointments (and elegant attendees) simply stunned against the rustic backdrop. Considering the day’s stars, would you expect anything else?

 

WHAT THEY RECOMMEND

 

• Remember stamps.

Tulips on the invitations inspired the custom stamps. Reply card envelopes bore Oscar de la Renta postage in honor of the bride’s love of haute couture.

 

• Let your flowers smooch.

Blooms and greenery woven into the lighting nearly touched the tabletop flowers. That reach offers maximum impact with minimal florals; planner Christina calls the look “kissing tulips.”

 

• Get a coach.

With 27 vendors to coordinate and the couple living in Manhattan, Christina says having a planner on board was critical for the bride and groom’s sanity.

 

• Sheath candles.

Slender chimney glass sleeves sat atop candle holders for a safe touch that was more elegant than hurricane glasses.

 

Vendors

 

Wedding design, planning: Christina Baxter Weddings & Events, www.christinabaxterweddings.com

Photography: Virgil Bunao, www.virgilbunao.com

Venue: Boone Hall Plantation, www.boonehallplantation.com

Florals: Branch Design Studio, www.branchdesignstudio.com

Catering, bar: Cru Catering, www.crucatering.com

Cake: Cakes by Kasarda, www.cakesbykasarda.com

Rentals: EventWorks, www.eventworksrentals.com ; Nüage Designs (linens: head table, cake table), www.nuagedesigns.com

Lighting: Technical Event Company, www.technicaleventcompany.com

Stationery: Mac & Murphy, www.macandmurphy.com

Calligraphy: Tara Jones, www.tarajones.com

Rings: Howard Engle, www.howardenglediamonds.com

Bride’s attire: Marchesa (gown), www.marchesa.com ; borrowed (veil); Nadri (earrings), www.nadri.com ; Sophia Webster (shoes), www.sophiawebster.com

Dresser: Cacky’s Bride + Aid, www.cackysbrideaid.com

Beauty: Patrick Navarro (hair), hairbynavarronyc@gmail.com ; Classic Beauty (makeup, Cheryl Quinn), www.classicbeautysc.com

Bridesmaids’ gowns: Nordstrom, www.shop.nordstrom.com ; JJ’s House, www.jjshouse.com

Flower girl’s dress: Dollcake, www.us.dollcake.com.au

Ring bearer’s attire: Black n Bianco, www.blacknbianco.com

Groom’s attire: SuitSupply (ceremony), www.us.suitsupply.com ; Tom Ford (reception jacket), www.tomford.com ; Louis Vitton (cufflinks), www.us.louisvuitton.com ; Del Toro (reception slippers), www.lifestyle.deltoroshoes.com

Groomsmen’s shoes: Del Toro Slippers, www.lifestyle.deltoroshoes.com

Music: Charleston Virtuosi (ceremony), www.charlestonvirtuosi.com ; Right to Party through East Coast Entertainment (reception), www.bookece.com/artist/right-to-party

Video: Life in Rewind, www.lifeinrewind.com