Homespun & Haute

WRITER CREDIT: 
PHOTOGRAPHER CREDIT: 
Homespun & Haute | Lowndes Grove Plantation welcomes this Charleston wedding that marries rustic barn details with high-end style
ERIN MCNAUGHTON & MATTHEW LEWIS
 
July 21, 2018 / The French Huguenot Church & Lowndes Grove Plantation
 
When a gal can name how many days she’s dated her beau (“One thousand and nine, but who’s counting?” laughs Erin), you know she’s ready for him to put a ring on it. When Matthew obliged, he and his betrothed invited nearly 380 guests to a celebration that properly introduced the Massachusetts residents’ mostly New England friend-base to Southern traditions and the Lowcountry landscape alike. Why Charleston? “It’s a big part of our story,” says Erin, who, as a Charlotte, North Carolina, native, grew up vacationing here. “We visited countless times while we were dating,” she says.
 
Since the couple couldn’t shake their craving for a barn-style wedding, planner Tara Guérard of Soirée met them in the middle with a reception featuring a custom rustic wooden wall behind the band, roped chandeliers, lawn games, and a family-style dinner. Add a groom who blurted “I will!” before his proper turn and it was a marriage of laid-back, free-spirits. “Just like me and Matt,” beams Erin.
 
What They Recommend
 
• Riff off your maids. Erin’s maid and matron of honors’ frocks inspired the cake’s design.
• Give a grown-up goodie. Boozy (and virgin) mixed berry, watermelon margarita, strawberry lemonade, blackberry cabernet, and sweet tea Popsicles helped guests chill out in the heat.
• Go high and low. Get an understated yet sophisticated look by mixing textures like copper, colored glass, and wood.
 
Vendors
 
Design, florals, linens: Tara Guérard Soirée, www.taraguerardsoiree.com
Photography: Corbin Gurkin, www.corbingurkin.com
Rentals: Snyder Events, www.snyderevents.com
Catering and wine and bar service: Patrick Properties, www.pphgcharleston.com
Cake: Wedding Cakes by Jim Smeal, www.weddingcakesbyjimsmeal.com
Stationery, signage: Lettered Olive, www.letteredolive.com
Bride’s attire: Anne Barge (gown), www.annebarge.com; Martin Katz (earrings), www.martinkatz.com
Attendants’ gowns: Jenny Yoo (maid, matron of honor, flower girl), Nouvelle Amsale (bridesmaids), available through Bella Bridesmaids www.bellabridesmaids.com
Dresser: Cacky’s Bride + Aid, www.cackysbrideaid.com
Beauty: Meg Workman (hair), www.megworkman.com; Deidre Outlaw (makeup), instagram.com/idomkup
Menswear, ring bearer’s attire: JoS. A Bank (suits), www.josbank.com; Brooks Brothers (tie), www.brooksbrothers.com
Ring bearer’s bowtie, suspenders: Roundtree and Yorke on Etsy, etsy.com/market/roundtree_yorke
Transportation: Lowcountry Valet & Shuttle Co., www.lowcountryvalet.com; Wanderlust VW Bus (getaway vehicle), www.wanderlust-project.com
Music: Charleston Virtuosi (ceremony), www.charlestonvirtuosi.com; Seth G. (cocktail hour), www.sethgmusic.com
Videography: Justin Burgan, www.justinburgan.com