A New Classic

WRITER CREDIT: 
PHOTOGRAPHER CREDIT: 
A New Classic | Kiawah Island Golf Resort welcomes a Town & Country-style destination wedding to its waterfront clubhouse
Sometimes fate has to work a little overtime. Such was the case of Alexandra (Alex) Stathis and Brian Tsao, who first met while each was working in a different company involved in a New York Red Bulls ad. But it wasn’t until Brian joined Alex’s team—“completely by chance,” says the couple—a few months later that they clicked. In short order, Brian had convinced long-time Manhattanite Alex to make the move to Brooklyn and had proposed on a getaway in upstate New York. But when it came time to plan their Big Day, it was Alex’s turn to take the reins; she aimed south and chose her family’s longtime vacation spot—Kiawah Island—to play host. “We picked that particular weekend because we felt that it was past hurricane season, but also warm enough for our guests to enjoy an outdoor cocktail and explore the island,” says Alex. Kristin Doggett of Bellafare made sure one and all enjoyed just that with a low-key, yet glamorous ceremony and reception that suited Alex and Brian just so.
 
Top Tips from This Wedding
• Make room for surprises. Brian and his mom, Lily, christened the dance floor with a performance inspired by Beyoncé. “The crowd went wild and the party took off,” says Kristin.
• Go analog to capture candid memories. Partygoers were encouraged to snap away with Polaroid cameras, and the miniature shots were featured alongside personal notes in the guest book.
• Embrace spare elegance. A decadent sailcloth tent paired with extravagant hardwood floors and scaled back bistro chairs equal upscale style that’s not a bit ostentatious.
 
Vendors
 
Design: Bellafare, www.bellafare.com
Venue, catering, bar service, sweets: The Ocean Course at Kiawah Island, www.kiawahresort.com/golf/the-ocean-course
Images: Harwell Photography, www.harwellphotography.com
Florals: Gathering Events, www.gatheringevents.com
Rentals: Ooh! Events, www.oohevents.com; Emerson James (place settings), www.emersonjamesrental.com; La Tavola Fine Linens (linens), www.latavolalinen.com; Ruth’s House Event Rentals (bistro chairs), www.ruthshouseinc.com; Snyder Events (bars, dance floor, lounge, stage), www.snyderevents.com
Photobooth: The Photobooth People, www.thephotoboothpeople.net 
Tent: Skyline Tent Company, www.skylinetentcompany.com
Draping: The Social Spool Co., www.thesocialspool.com
Lighting: Technical Event Company, www. technicaleventcompany.com
Music: Palmetto Strings (ceremony, cocktail hour), www.palmettostrings.com; A-Town A-List Band courtesy of Sam Hill Entertainment (reception), www.samhillbands.com/bands/a-town-a-list
Paper goods, calligraphy: Isidore and Augustine, www.isidore-augustine.com
Bride’s gown: Oscar de la Renta, www.oscardelarenta.com
Beauty: Lashes and Lace, www.lashesandlacecharleston.com
Getaway vehicle: Lowcountry Valet & Shuttle Co., www.lowcountryvalet.com