Twist of Fate

WRITER CREDIT: 
PHOTOGRAPHER CREDIT: 
Twist of Fate | What's the bigger story: That these two hosted an ultra luxe wedding for 20? Or that he originally meant to ask out her near lookalike sister?
When resident Jonathan spotted a cute dental student while at work, he did a little research and messaged her on Facebook to strike up a conversation. And while the doc meant to reach out to one coed (Virginia), he mistakenly sent a note to her nearly look-alike sister, Taylor, instead. All’s well that ends well, though, and two years later the couple (that’s Taylor and Jonathan) were planning a getaway wedding in Charleston with Virginia as the maid of honor. They aimed somewhere in the middle of an elopement á deux and a larger wedding, and invited some 20 guests, including their parents, siblings, and one family friend. Pure Luxe Bride, which specializes in pulling off intimate celebrations that look like a styled shoot but function like a grand well-tended affair, took over the reins to fashion a ceremony and dinner under open skies at Legare Waring House. “We were able to elope without compromising our dream wedding vision,” says Taylor, who was pronounced very happy.
 
Tips
 
• When planning an intimate wedding, gently explain to loved ones (invited and not) that only immediate family will be attending.
• Book a weekday event. Weddings give you a price break on rentals, venue, and vendors. Taylor and Jonathan put savings towards prep time at boutique hotel Zero George, among other things.
• Have a blast. A path of white petals tossed in the grass marked the aisle in simple elegance.
• Embrace stylish understatements. Turn the wedding trip into as family getaway. “We had a beach day, shopped, did tours of Charleston, and ate at some incredible restaurants,” 
says Taylor.
 
Vendors
 
Wedding design: Pure Luxe Bride www.pureluxebride.com
Venue(s): Legare Waring House (reception) www.southcarolinaparks.com/legare-waring-house/event-space; Zero George www.zerogeorge.com (prep)
Photography: The Happy Bloom www.thehappybloom.com
Florals: Branch Design Studio www.branchdesignstudio.com
Linens: La Tavola Fine Linen www.latavolalinen.com
Rentals: Ooh! Events www.oohevents.com
Plates: EventWorks www.eventworks.com
Catering, bar service: MOSAIC www.mosaiccateringevents.com 
Cake: Sableé www.shopsablee.com
Stationery, invitation calligraphy: Lowcountry Paper Co. www.lowcountrypaperco.com
Placecards, vow books: Seniman Calligraphy www.senimancalligraphy.com 
Vintage Postage: TreasureFox www.etsy.com/shop/TreasureFox (Etsy); LittlePostageHouse www.etsy.com/shop/LittlePostageHouse (Etsy) Music: Classical Charleston www.classicalcharleston.com
Welcome bags: Ballard Designs (bags) www.ballarddesigns.com; Old Whaling Company (soap and body butter) www.oldwhalingcompany.com; Olde Colony Bakery (key lime cookies and benne cheese zingers) www.oldecolonybakery.com; Carolina Plantation Rice (grits) www.carolinaplantationrice.com; Sweet Grass Palm (sweetgrass fans) www.sweetgrasspalm.com
Bride’s attire: Ines Di Santo www.inesdisanto.com
Jewelry: Beckham Custom Jewelry www.beckhamjewelry.com
Beauty: Wedding Hair by Charlotte www.weddinghairbycharlotte.com  
Bridesmaid Attire: BHLDN www.bhldn.com 
Groom’s Attire: Brooks Brothers www.brooksbrothers.com
Transportation: Dream Classic Rentals www.dreamclassicrentals.com