More Is More

WRITER CREDIT: 
PHOTOGRAPHER CREDIT: 
More Is More | Lavishness rules this Charleston garden party

Michelle Carlson & Christopher Able

April 27, 2018 / Legare Waring House

 

When Chris headed to the bar for a second round, the D.C. resident caught a fellow patron’s hair flip to the face. Apologies accepted, he and Rapunzel (Michelle) struck up a conversation, and a few years later, they were planning a destination wedding in Charleston. Michelle pinned her heart away, and Lillie Simpson from Loluma took those saves and granted her wishes for an enchanted garden party. “I’m not into ‘less is more,’” says Michelle, “and I’ve embraced it.” The bride’s love of “more” led to church doors being installed in a side garden so she could make a grand entrance; a cascading bouquet so long it nearly grazed the ground; and gold piped icing that “zhushed” up the wedding cake. As for that bouquet? “They warned me it would be heavy,” she says, “and although my arm went numb during the ceremony, it was totally worth it.”

 

WHAT THEY RECOMMEND

 

• Expand your options.

Ask your planner to share locations at your venue that are not commonly used, then hold the ceremony or cocktail hour there.

 

• Make an outdoor church.

Seating and arbor-altars are de riguer but a set of doors—best in a hedge entrance—takes build-a-sanctuary to next level status.

 

• Consider a focal point for your tent entrance.

Loluma created a blush-hued antechamber so guests felt like they were entering a grand dining hall.

 

• Stick with a statement cake.

Having studied in France, the bride leans toward lavish French Provencial designs, thus the details on the cake, which were replicated on the paper suite.

 

Vendors

 

Wedding design, florals, draping, décor, lighting: Loluma, www.loluma.com

Images: Aaron & Jillian Photography, www.aaronandjillian.com

Venue: Legare Waring House, www.southcarolinaparks.com/legare-waring-house

Cake: Delicious Desserts Charleston, www.verydeliciousdesserts.com

Catering: Hamby Catering, www.hambycatering.com

Bar: Spike by Snyder, www.snyderevents.com

Rentals: Snyder Events, www.snyderevents.com ; EventHaus (reception chairs), www.eventhausrentals.com

Linens: Snyder Events, www.snyderevents.com

Paper suite, signage, calligraphy: Indigo Envelope, www.indigoenvelope.com

Bride’s attire: Mathew Christopher Bridal, available in Charleston through Southern Protocol Bridal (gown), www.southernprotocolbridal.com ; Mindy Lam Couture, (hair accessory), www.mindylamcouture.com ; Ted Baker (shoes), www.tedbaker.com

Dresser: Cacky’s Bride + Aid, www.cackysbrideaid.com

Bridesmaids’ attire: Lulus, www.lulus.com ; Anthropologie, www.anthropologie.com ; ASOS, www.asos.com

Beauty: RefEYEance, Sarah Pearson (bride), www.refeyeance.com ; Paper Dolls (bridesmaids), www.mycharlestonweddinghair.com

Groom’s attire: SuitSupply, www.us.suitsupply.com

Groomsmen’s attire: Calvin Klein, www.calvinklein.com

Music: Classical Charleston (ceremony), www.classicalcharleston.com ; The A-Town A-List through Sam Hill Entertainment (reception), www.samhillbands.com

Transportation: Lowcountry Valet & Shuttle Co., www.lowcountryvalet.com

Video: Paragon Filmworks, www.paragonfilmworks.com