You are here

Home
Share this
Painted to Perfection

Written By

Written By: 
Jacqui Calloway

Photos By

Photos By: 
Jennifer Bearden
Custom watercolors, gold-painted latticework, and a rainbow of jewel tones combine to make an artful Big Day for this one-time planner and her sweetie
Emily Harkins & Charles Christensen
November 18, 2016 / Legare Waring House
 
Emily and Charles may be Atlanta natives—their first date was a Braves game, and he popped the question on Turner Field—but one Lowcountry venue became the obvious choice for their nuptials during her two-year stint here as a wedding planner. “One day, while I was working at Legare Waring, Charles brought me lunch and he said, ‘This is where we’ll get married,’ ” says Emily. He kept his promise, and for their own fête, blush, cranberry, and jewel tones bubbled up as the colors of choice. A Charleston Bride planner Lindsey Boyce helped Emily execute the rich palette with custom watercolored papergoods. “Watercolor creates fluidity between colors,” Lindsey says of the medium. Mottled table linens and florals in pink, fuchsia, and scarlet achieved a similar blending effect. With elegant calligraphy and a handmade golden entrance to the reception to boot, the entire day was truly a work of art.
 
Emily & Charles’s Tips
Sip the season. The couple’s “Chucktown Mule” invoked cool-weather colors and flavors with cranberry and thyme.
Get your mileage out of custom work. Watercoloring appeared on signage, menus, the invitation suite, and more for both the rehearsal dinner and the wedding.
• Play mod and classic elements against each other. Velvet ribbon menu ties softened the look of Lucite place cards.
Commit to a theme. Gold lattice appeared in the entry, on the flower girl dresses, and on the wedding cake. A metallic in a clean-lined pattern is a great foil for florals and other organic elements.
 
Vendor List
 
Wedding design: A Charleston Bride, www.acharlestonbride.com
Photography: Jennifer Bearden, www.facebook.com/jenniferbeardenphotography
Venue: Legare Waring House, www.legarewaringhouse.com
Cake: Delicious Desserts, www.verydeliciousdesserts.com
Bar service: Squeeze Cocktail & Beverage Catering, www.squeeze-onsite.com
Florals: Charleston Stems, www.charlestonstems.com
Rentals: Snyder Events, www.snyderevents.com; Nüage Designs (linens), www.nuagedesigns.com; AV Connections (lighting), www.avconnectionssc.com 
Lighting: AV Connections, www.avconnectionssc.com
Catering: Cru Catering, www.crucatering.com
Stationery, signage: Silver Starfish, www.thesilverstarfish.com
Calligraphy, signage: J.Lily Design, www.jlilydesign.com 
Music: The Lowhills, www.thelowhills.com
Bride’s attire: Monique Lhuillier, available through Maddison Row (gown), www.maddisonrow.com; Twigs & Honey (hair crown), www.twigsandhoney.com; Tia Mazza (veil), www.tiamazza.com; Manolo Blahnik (shoes), www.manoloblahnik.com 
Lattice: Technical Event Company, www.technicaleventcompany.com 
Groom’s attire: Charleston Tuxedo (tux, shoes, suspenders), www.charlestontuxedo.com; Saks Fifth Avenue (bow tie, pocket square), www.saksfifthavenue.com 
Welcome boxes: A Signature Welcome, www.asignaturewelcome.com
Flower girl dresses: Macy's, www.macys.com