You are here

Home
Share this
Classic Romance

Written By

Written By: 
Jacqui Calloway

Photos By

Photos By: 
Corbin Gurkin
Looking for an old-fashioned Southern wedding done right? Look at this beauty that took place at a Charleston plantation by the water 
McNair Rhodes & Christopher Someheil
Wedding Design by Tara Guérard / Photographs by Corbin Gurkin
 
In the age of Tinder and Bumble, McNair Rhodes and Christopher Someheil are a good, old-fashioned blind date gone right. Their first rendezvous at a King Street hot spot lasted ’til the restaurant, well, closed. “We had so much fun we shut the place down!” McNair laughs. Three years later, they had even more fun celebrating their nuptials with 500 of their nearest and dearest. With its spacious lawn, Lowndes Grove Plantation was the perfect venue for such a guest list, and Tara Guérard Soirée was the ideal group to pull off a luxe experience for such a crowd. “We wanted a formal wedding, but we didn’t want it to be stuffy,” McNair says. The result was old school Southern—lavish décor, bars aplenty, guests dressed to the nines, and even a fountain brimming with chilled shrimp. “It was seriously the best wedding ever!” the bride gushes. That is, ’til she and Christopher shut it down.
 
TAKEAWAYS
• Weave fresh, spring greenery into garden furniture for a lush seasonal look, as seen here on the base of the cake table.
• Give your photographer a shot list to get the keepsake photos you truly want, like the snapshot of McNair’s heirloom jewelry.
• Personalize reception pillows with a custom monogram.
• Position outdoor seating to take advantage of the breeze and great views, as seen with the wicker sofa.
• Double up on ceiling draping with a mix of fabric and string lights.
 
VENDORS
Design, florals, rentals: Tara Guérard Soirée, www.taraguerardsoiree.com
Photography: Corbin Gurkin, www.corbingurkinphotography.com
Cake: Wedding Cakes by Jim Smeal, www.weddingcakesbyjimsmeal.com
Venue, catering, bar service: Lowndes Grove Plantation, Patrick Properties, www.pphgcharleston.com
Stationery, signage: Lettered Olive, www.letteredolive.com
Bride’s attire: Monique Lhuillier (gown), from Maddison Row, www.maddisonrow.com; Kira Elizabeth Designs (lace overlay),  www.facebook.com/KiraElizabethDesignStudio/; Croghan’s Jewel Box (jewelry), www.croghansjewelbox.com
Beauty: Lashes and Lace, www.lashesandlacecharleston.com
Bridesmaids’ dresses: Jenny Yoo, www.jennyyoo.com, available locally through Bella Bridesmaids (www.bellabridesmaids.com)
Menswear: Berlin’s for Men, www.berlinsclothing.com
Music: Charleston Virtuosi (ceremony), www.charlestonvirtuosi.com; Big Swing & The Ballroom Blasters (reception), www.bigswingandtheballroomblasters.com
Videographer: Siegel Films, www.siegelfilms.com