You are here

Home
Share this
Throwback Style

Written By

Written By: 
Jacqui Calloway

Photos By

Photos By: 
Paige Winn Photo
When a Charleston bride designs an antique-meets-modern wedding she finds her life’s (other) passion along the way 

Chris Murdoch & Sarah Hollis
November 10, 2012
Legare Waring House

“I love a piece that’s already lived a pretty fabulous life,” says Sarah Hollis of her fascination with all things vintage. That includes everything from her 1920s engagement ring (which now-hubby Chris Murdoch hid in his tackle box for three months before proposing) to the antiques that furnished their rustic wedding at the Legare Waring House. As Sarah hunted down décor for the Lowcountry affair—a Charleston native, she couldn’t imagine hosting it anywhere else—she fell in love with scouring auctions and estate sales. “Little did I know that my wedding would put me on track to a new career!” says the proud founder of Charleston’s 428 Main Vintage Rentals.

But before the new gig and the Big Day came Chris, who she met in Key West, Florida, while both were on spring break. Afterward, the two kept in touch (he in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, and she here in the Lowcountry), until Sarah tagged along on a family vacation in his neck of the woods. A romantic date kicked off 15 months of long-distance dating, until Chris relocated to Charleston and eventually proposed overlooking the harbor.

After a “Yes!” Sarah teamed with Southern Protocol’s Lizz Akerman to pull together the celebration. Sarah says Lizz made the whole experience a joy. “I would just throw ideas at her,” says Sarah, “and she’d edit down the ones that were too out there. Our collaboration produced the most perfect results I could have ever wished for.”

Come wedding day, there was a blend of Sarah’s craftiness, Lizz’s streamlining, and wonderful sentiment. “It really was the best six hours of my life,” says Sarah.  

 

Vendor List

Baker: DeClare Cakes, www.declarecakes.com
Bar Service: Spike by Snyder, www.snyderevents.com/bar-service
Bridal Attire: Modern Trousseau, www.moderntrousseau.com
Caterer: Cru Café, www.crucafe.com
Florist: Stems, www.charlestonstems.com
Groom’s Attire: Berlin’s for Men, www.berlinsclothing.com
Lighting: AV Connections, www.avconnectionssc.com
Makeup Artist: Leslie Moore, www.mooremakeup.com
Musicians: Palmetto Strings (Ceremony), www.palmettostrings.com; Nic Skey (Cocktail Hour/Dinner), www.reverbnation.com/nicskey; Atlanta Party Band (Reception), www.eastcoastentertainment.com/artist/atlanta-party-band
Photographer: Paige Winn Photo, www.paigewinnphoto.com
Planner: Lizz Akerman, Southern Protocol, www.southernprotocol.com
Rentals: Snyder’s, www.snydereventrentals.com; EventWorks,
www.eventworksrentals.com; 428 Main Vintage Rentals (Furniture/Specialty Décor), www.428main.com
Stationery: Scotti Cline Designs, www.scotticlinedesigns.com
Transportation: Limos for Less, (843) 965-5466