You are here

Home
Share this
An Expat Comes Home

Written By

Written By: 
Nicole Warren

Photos By

Photos By: 
Angela Stott Photography
A pair from Paris heads to The Palmetto State—the bride's home turf—for a French-infused Southern wedding

Kathleen Marks & Benoît Roseiro
August 18, 2012
The Confederate Home & South Carolina Society Hall

A month after arriving in Paris to teach English, Sumter, South Carolina, native Kathleen Marks met Benoît Roseiro at a concert. He asked her out, and they’ve been inseparable ever since. Five years after that first date, Benoît packed a Tiffany ring for a trip to Kathleen’s homeland, where he proposed. And although the couple wanted to infuse French style into their nuptials, they came back to the Lowcountry for the big event. “There was no question,” says Kathleen, a College of Charleston grad. “I had dreamed about getting married in Charleston forever.” Inspired by a red-and-blue striped vintage English-French dictionary (her favorite color is red, and his is blue), the bride, her mother, and Hannah Alexander of WED set about marrying the couple’s heritages—bringing Kathleen’s “French life” home to family and sharing Southern hospitality with her new friends from abroad. As night fell on the wedding, all missions had been accomplished.

Vendor List

Bride’s Gown: Modern Trousseau; www.moderntrousseau.com
Bridesmaid’s Dresses: J.Crew; www.jcrew.com
Cake: Wedding Cakes by Jim Smeal; www.weddingcakesbyjimsmeal.com
Catering: Cru Catering; www.crucatering.com
Dessert Tarts: Whisk Bakery; www.whiskcharleston.com
Florals: SYG Designs; www.sygdesigns.com
Groom’s Attire: Samson, Paris, France; www.samson-costume-sur-mesure.com
Groomsmen’s Attire: Galeries Lafayette in Paris, France (www.galerieslafayette.com); navy ties from J.Crew (www.jcrew.com)
Hair & Makeup: Rachel Biestman; www.rachelbiestman.com
Music: Caravan (www.otherbrotherent.com/caravan.html); Jay Maxwell (www.jaymaxwell.com)
Photographer: Angela Stott; www.angelastott.com
Planning & Coordination: Hannah Alexander with WED; www.charlestonevent.com
Rentals: Snyder Event Rentals; www.snyderevents.com
Rubber Stamp: May + Belle; www.may-belle.com
Stationery: Sixpence Press; www.sixpencepress.com
Venue: South Carolina Society Hall; www.southcarolinasocietyhall.com





RESOURCES