You are here

Home
Share this
Peace, Love & Happiness

Written By

Written By: 
Jacqui Calloway

Photos By

Photos By: 
Timwill Photography
A couple of city slickers ditch the concrete jungle for a wedding weekend in the lovely Lowcountry

Lindsay Buehler & Brian Tyson
October 26, 2013
Magnolia Plantation and Gardens


Forget dinner and a movie: to celebrate three months of courtship, Brooklyn, New York, natives Lindsay Buehler and Brian Tyson splurged on a trip to India to see a pair of her friends wed, which pretty much sealed their own romantic deal. “After Brian waswilling to get up at 5 a.m. and follow me through the dark streets of Mysore for a yoga class, we both knew it was love,” says Lindsay.

One proposal later, they started dreaming up their own wedding in the Lowcountry, which, after 20 years of Buehler family vacations to Kiawah Island, felt like a second home to the bride-to-be. And so the wedding planning from afar began, not with a palette or theme, but with the wedding party’s togs—a pale pink bridal gown, navy suit for the groom, and metallic silver frocks for the maid of honor and best (wo)man.

“We decided to incorporate bright colors with flowers, printed materials, and table settings,” Lindsay explains. They opted for a suite of coral-hued paper goods and then mixed in teal votives along with blooms in peach, magenta, and gold, plus vintage patterned china and rentals all seamlessly melded together by Katie Poole of Tusk Events. The pieces added up to one seriously polished look that gave Magnolia Plantation’s naturally earthy aesthetic an urbane edge.

When the wedding weekend arrived, the duo shirked a rehearsal dinner in favor of a welcome bash for guests hailing from Chicago, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C. Saturday brought a romantic ceremony written by Lindsay, officiated by a family friend, and enlivened with Beatles’ tunes strummed on a guitar.  “In the end,” says Lindsay, “everything was a reflection of our personal tastes and of our love for each other.”

Vendor List:

Best Woman Attire: Basix Black Label, www.basixblacklabel.com

Bride’s Gown: Monique Lhullier, available in Charleston through Maddison Row, www.maddisonrow.com

Bride’s Jewelry: Mociun, www.mociun.com (engagement and wedding ring); Orr’s Jewelers, www.orrsrocks.com (diamond earrings and necklace)

Bride’s Shoes: Loeffler Randall, www.loefflerrandall.com

Bridesmaid Attire: Alice + Olivia, www.aliceandolivia.com (gown); Loeffler Randall, www.loefflerrandall.com (shoes)

Cake: Wildflour Pastry, www.wildflourpastrycharleston.com

Catering and Bar Service: Mosaic, www.mosaicedibles.com

Ceremony Music: Gregory Guay, www.gregoryguaymusic.com

Ceremony and Reception Location: Magnolia Plantation and Gardens, www.magnoliaplantation.com

Florist: Branch Design Studio, www.branchdesignstudio.com

Groom’s Attire: Paul Smith Mainline, www.paulsmith.co.uk (suit); J.Crew, www.jcrew.com (tie); Barneys New York, www.barneys.com (shoes)

Getaway Vehicle: Yellow Cab, www.yellowcabofcharleston.com

Hair: Sarah Robinson, Kelly Hylton & Company, www.kellyhylton.com

Linens: Snyder Events, www.snyderevents.com

Makeup: Elizabeth Quinton, www.eqmakeup.com

Photographer: Tim Willoughby, www.timwillphoto.com

Planner: Tusk Events, www.tuskeventsdesign.com

Reception Entertainment: DJ Gary Ames, www.twitter.com/djgames619; The Flashdance  

Rentals: Ooh! Events, www.theartofcreating.com/oohevents

Stationery: Designed by Brian Tyson; The Mandate Press (letterpress invitations and reply cards) www.themandatepress.com