You are here

Home
Share this
Naturally Elegant

Written By

Written By: 
Jacqui Calloway

Photos By

Photos By: 
Brandon Lata
Katie Martin & Blair Marshall September 19, 2015 / William Aiken House  

Katie Martin & Blair Marshall
September 19, 2015, William Aiken House

 

For D.C. residents Katie Martin and Blair Marshall, wellness comes first—she’s a yoga instructor and cold-pressed juice shop owner, and he loves plant-based cooking. “So we wanted a lot of natural elements and great farm-to-table food for our guests,” says Katie of their wedding at the William Aiken House. “Alongside our main course options, we passed family-style farm vegetables and grains around the table, which presented a more casual element to the formal setting.” Megan Chandler of Ooh! Events married the celebration’s easygoing, organic vibe with the elegant surroundings in other ways: tables covered in crushed silk linens bore greenery runners in lieu of traditional centerpieces; escort cards dangled from boxed crepe myrtles; and lavender permeated the air thanks to scattered sprigs of the aromatic herbs. Says Katie, “I couldn’t believe how magical it looked. I started crying on the spot!” 

 

Top Tips
Mimic the Marshalls ...

• Use social media to build hype. Katie posted sneak peeks of décor and planning festivities on Instagram to engage friends all over the States.
• Pen your vows. Says Katie, “I loved taking time before the wedding to think about what marriage means to me and how I hope to serve my spouse.”
• Have fun with seating arrangements. The long, serpentine table for the couple’s college friends turned into a party of its own.
• Keep it simple: a sprig of lavender was enough to accent champagne that was passed for toasts.


Vendor List

Cake, catering, bar and wine service: Fish Restaurant, www.fishrestaurantcharleston.com

Design, rentals: Ooh Events!, www.oohevents.com

Florals: Out of the Garden, www.shopoutofhand.com

Crepe myrtles: Nancy's Exotic Plants, (843) 556-9299

Linens: Connie Duglin, www.connieduglinlinen.com

Cocktail hour musician: Seth G, www.sethgmusic.com

Reception musicians: Atlanta Party Band, www.eastcoastentertainment.com/artist/atlanta-party-band

Photographer: Brandon Lata, www.brandonlata.com

Save-the-dates, invitations: Ruby The Fox, www.rubythefox.com

Day-of printed materials: Fancy Creative, www.fancycreative.com

Getaway vehicle: Lowcountry Valet, www.lowcountryvalet.com

Welcome boxes: A Signature Welcome, www.asignaturewelcome.com

Videographer: Dock House Digital, http://www.dockhouseblog.com

Bride's attire: Romona Keveza (available locally at Maddison Row), www.romonakeveza.com

Bridal shoes: Ivanka Trump, www.ivankatrump.com/shop-ivanka-trump-collection

Bridesmaid's attire: JCrew, www.jcrew.com

Hair: SWISH, www.swish123.com

Makeup: Ooh! Beautiful, www.shopoutofhand.com

Men’s attire: The Black Tux, www.theblacktux.com