You are here

Home
Share this
My Heaven on Earth
When the world’s your playground, where does an Olympic Gold Medalist wed her Emmy-winning sweetheart? Right here in Charleston
Tara Lipinski & Todd Kapostasy
June 24, 2017 • Middleton Place
 
 
“Imay be from Jersey, but I am a Lowcountry girl at heart,” says Tara Lipinski. If her allegiance takes you by surprise, let’s rewind. Back when the Olympic Gold Medalist was touring with Stars on Ice, the group did a stop in Charleston and she took a day trip to Kiawah Island. Tara says she fell in love with the place—its marshes, Spanish moss-laden oaks, and ocean views—soon bought land there, and designed and built her ideal getaway. That was 20-some years ago, and though the sports-slash-fashion commentator splits her time between New York and Los Angeles the bulk of the year, Kiawah “has been my heaven on earth ever since,” she says.
 
So when Tara and her best-friend beau, Emmy-award winning sports producer Todd Kapostasy, got engaged in 2015, there was no question where they’d trade vows. “I always knew I would get married in Charleston,” Tara says, “and anyone who knows me knew that as well.” She goes on to say that she and Todd spent much of their romance here (“It’s where we fell in love”), so he was onboard, too.
 
With celebrity planner Mindy Weiss at the helm, Tara devised a wedding weekend showcasing the best of the Holy City. The festivities started with a welcome party and barbecue at the Cotton Dock at Boone Hall Plantation; then there was the rehearsal dinner at the River Course on Kiawah Island, and the climax? A ceremony on the Parterre above the Butterfly Lakes at Middleton Place, a cocktail party in the Octagonal Sunken Garden there, and a lavishly tented reception in the shadow of the plantation’s 19th century manor house.
 
Aside from the main event (becoming Mr. and Mrs. Kapostasy), Tara says she and Todd reveled in their guests’ experiences. “We had so much fun creating specialty drinks and picking out menus to showcase our favorite Southern items,” she says. “My tip? Play up the local vibe and flavors. You can make your wedding casual or formal but one thing that always shines through [in a Charleston wedding] is that Southern glamour.”
 
 
Vendor List
 
Wedding design: Mindy Weiss, www.mindyweiss.com
Florals: Jackson Durham Events, www.jacksondurham.com
Images: Sylvie Gil Photography, www.sylviegilphotography.com
Venue: Middleton Place, www.middletonplace.org
Tents: Sperry Tents Southeast, www.sperrytentssoutheast.com
Rentals: Ooh! Events, www.oohevents.com; EventHaus, www.eventhausrentals.com; Old South Vintage Rentals, www.oldsouthvintagerentals.com
Catering: Cru Catering, www.crucatering.com
Cake: Ashley Bakery, www.ashleybakery.com
Lighting: Technical Event Company, www.technicaleventcompany.com
Draping: Party Tables, www.partytables.com
Stationery: Jasmin Michelle, www.jasminmichelledesigns.com
Signage: J.Lily Design, www.jlilydesign.com
Bride’s attire: Reem Acra (gown), www.reemacra.com; Laura Basci (train and skirt), www.laurabasci.com
Beauty: Glenn Nutley (hair), www.glennnutley.com; Julianne Kaye (makeup), www.juliannekaye.format.com
Bridesmaid’s attire: Monique Lhuillier, available in Charleston through Bella Bridesmaids, www.bellabridesmaids.com; “Bridesman” attire: Andrew Morrison Studio (suit), www.andrewmorrisonnyc.com; Miharaya Suhiro (shirt), www.miharayasuhiro.jp; Hermes  (shoes), www.hermes.com
Groom’s attire: Tom Ford, www.tomford.com
Musicians: Charleston Virtuosi (ceremony), www.charlestonvirtuosi.com
Getaway car: Lowcountry Valet & Shuttle Co., www.lowcountryvalet.com





RESOURCES

Images by Sylvie Gil Photography; Wedding Design by Mindy Weiss