You are here

Home
Share this
A Formal Affair

Photos By

Photos By: 
Liz Banfield
A North Carolina couple enjoys an elegant celebration steeped in tradition

Ashley Carrabba & Anthony Capozzoli
June 4, 2011
Lowndes Grove Plantation


After meeting through mutual friends, Anthony (“Tony”) Capozzoli took Ashley Carrabba on a first date full of drama—theatrical drama, that is. The pair, who live in Raleigh, went to see the musical Jersey Boys when it came to town. “We loved it!” says Ashley, adding that the show’s soundtrack became their soundtrack, too.

The couple’s courtship progressed, and on Easter Day 2010they got engaged. Though the proposal wasn’t quite a surprise (Ashley had spotted a receipt for the ring in Tony’s briefcase months before), it was all for the better, as the notice allowed the bride-to-be to start planning early. Having traveled to Charleston on their first weekend trip together, Ashley says the city was “the perfect place” for their nuptials, and she scheduled a secret meeting with wedding designer Tara of Tara Guérard Soirée before Tony had even popped the question.  

 “She came to us wanting a very traditional, elegant event,” says Tara, who didn’t miss a beat over Ashley’s enterprising ways. After Tony slipped the ring on Ashley’s finger, the couple chose a princely palette of black, gold, ivory, and champagne, to which Tara added décor embellishments like the couple’s monogram and a chandelier motif.

On June 4th, 2011,  Ashley met Tony at the end of a gilded edged aisle at Lowndes Grove Plantation to say “I do.” Afterward, in an outdoor tent draped with champagne-hued and sheer white fabric, the bride and groom indulged in a four-course meal with family and friends. After supper, the night took a nostalgic turn as the newlyweds made their way to the chandelier-lit floor for a first dance to “Can’t Take My Eyes Off You,” one of their favorites from the Jersey Boys soundtrack. Ashley’s opinion of the evening? “Everything was perfect.”
 

Vendor List
Aisle Runner:
Boutique Tents; www.boutiquetents.net/singlepress/2/1/
Bridal attire: Romona Keveza from Maddison Row; www.romonakeveza.com, www.maddisonrow.com
Bridesmaids’ attire: Jenny Yoo from Bella Bridesmaid, Charleston; www.jennyyoo.com, www.bellabridesmaid.com
Cake: Wedding Cakes by Jim Smeal; www.weddingcakesbyjimsmeal.com
Catering: Patrick Properties/Fish Catering; www.pphgcharleston.com
Ceremony music: Ceremony strings (8 violins and string trio) through Debut, Inc.
Ceremony and reception venue: Lowndes Grove Plantation; www.lowndesgrove.com
Design, Flower, Décor, and Planning: Tara Guérard Soirée; www.taraguerardsoiree.com
Favors: Coleman Photography; www.colemanphotography.com
Groom’s and groomens’ attire: Grady Ervin & Co.; www.gradyervin.com
Hair: Velvet Salon; www.velvetsaloncharleston.com
Jewelry: Diamonds Direct Crabtree; www.diamonds-direct.com/raleigh/
Make-Up Service: Moore Make Up; www.mooremakeup.com
Photographer: Liz Banfield Photography; www.lizbanfield.com
Reception entertainment: In the Pocket and The Valli Boys through East Coast Entertainment; www.eastcoastentertainment.com
Rentals: Snyder Event Rentals; www.snydereventrentals.com
Transportation: Absolutely Charleston, absolutelycharleston.com; A Star Limousine Service, www.astartlimo.com
Stationery: The Lettered Olive; www.theletteredolive.com
Videographer: Elysium Productions; www.elysiumproductions.com

 





RESOURCES